Monday, July 6, 2015

ICO Fellowships Program

The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Fellowships Program was organized to help promising young ophthalmologists from developing countries improve their practical skills and broaden their perspectives of ophthalmology.  Fellows are expected to bring the acquired knowledge and skills back to their home countries and take part in programs to preserve vision and prevent blindness.

Three-Month Fellowships (offered by the ICO and its supporters)
These fellowships provide young ophthalmologists from developing countries with exposure to and training in several subspecialties in ophthalmology.  The program is intended to be flexible to meet the needs of different countries and individuals.  Approximately 60 Fellowships are awarded each year.

The ICO Three-Month Fellowship is awarded twice a year, with application deadlines of March 31 and September 30.

One-Year Fellowships
ICO-Retina Research Foundation Helmerich Fellowships
This fellowship provides support for one year of ophthalmology training in any subspecialty.  Fellowships are awarded to young ophthalmologists from developing countries who are committed to enhancing ophthalmic education and patient care in their home countries.  The fellowship honors Mr. W. H. Helmerich III and is sponsored by the Retina Research Foundation in cooperation with the ICOFoundation. 

Three ICO – Retina Research Foundation Helmerich Fellowships are awarded each year. The application deadline is September 30.

For further details and application please visit the ICO Fellowships Program page.

Popular Posts